.

Best of Patch: Who Makes The Best Sandwiches in Reading?

Please vote for your favorite sandwich place by taking our poll and by clicking on the directory link and writing a short 1 or 2 sentence review.

Our inaugural Best of Patch contest kicks off this week with food on our minds.  

Do you have a favorite sandwich place or sub shop in town?  

Here are some of our favorite places, but if we're leaving one off of the list, please let us know in the comments and we'll add it:

  •  

And if your favorite place to grab a sandwich is in a neighboring town, vote here: ; ; ; ; ; ; and . 

Voting in the poll below is open until 9 a.m. Friday. Because this poll is not scientific, it is not the sole consideration in choosing a winner. The winner will be determined by the Patch editor, based on poll results and reviews on Patch Places. Please vote only once per survey, per Patch.

mahiggins February 27, 2012 at 12:11 PM
lots of options; healthy, fresh ingredients; delicious food; love the outdoor seating; needs indoor for the colder weather; friendly staff
Paul McCarthy February 27, 2012 at 12:35 PM
Ok, Why isnt Gregory's on this list???? Sams Bistro...huh
PJD February 27, 2012 at 01:49 PM
Bagel World - early favorite. Gregory's should be on the list too.
Emily M February 27, 2012 at 02:24 PM
Bagel world, though a limited sandwich selection there. DiCara's has greaaaattttt hot subs. Chicken parm - yum! I had catered sandwich trays from Green Tomato once and they were excellent.
Andrew Jeromski February 27, 2012 at 03:00 PM
HI, EVERYONE! SORRY FOR YELLING, BUT I JUST WANT TO LET YOU ALL KNOW THAT, BY POPULAR REQUEST, GREGORY'S RESTAURANT HAS BEEN ADDED TO THE LIST AND POLL. THANKS FOR VOTING!
John February 27, 2012 at 03:15 PM
Even though they are not on the list - Last Corner Restaurant - best roast beef sandwich around.
Nancy February 27, 2012 at 03:42 PM
Jimbo's Famous Roast Beef & Seafood = Average Food all around Colombo's Pizza & Cafe = Pizza and Calzones are the best in Town Gregory's Restaurant = Everything is very cheap but sub par and made by high school students Reading House of Pizza = Really good subs Di Cara's Deli = Nothing special Little Chucks Deli = Good quick stop Anthony's Roast Beef = Buff Chick Calzone is very good Town Pizza & Deli = Average SammyJo's Bakery & Cafe = Never heard of it P & S Convenient = Would never go because of owners poor reputation Swissbakexpress = Never heard of it Bagel World Bakery & Deli = Best bagels and Coffee in town Cafe Capri = Everything is good but its pricey Sam's Bistro = Never been Green Tomato = Great variety and taste at good price Olde Redding Butcher Shoppe = Products are not fresh and staff is not knowledgeable of products Last Corner Needs to be added, i agree with John best roast beef around
Mark Micheli February 27, 2012 at 04:01 PM
OK. We just added "Last Corner Restaurant." Thanks!
MARIE February 27, 2012 at 07:10 PM
DICARAS DELI HAS FANTASTIC SUBS!! VERY FRESH AND THE STORE IS EXTREMELY CLEAN!! YOU CAN HAVE GREGORY'S! MARIE
Emily M February 27, 2012 at 08:44 PM
nancy you need to head down toward the train station to fill in the missing ones on your list
highflyer February 27, 2012 at 09:00 PM
Gregory's has some of the worst sandwiches in town. The only good deal is the "kid's deal".
highflyer February 27, 2012 at 09:01 PM
Gregory's has some of the worst sandwiches in Reading. The only thing they do well is the "Kid's deal" for when the youngsters have half a day.
C Ryan February 27, 2012 at 09:16 PM
By far, DiCara's Deli, has the best sandwiches! Always soooo fresh - afterall, they slice the meat to order! Rolls are fresh, too. We love the roast beef, chicken parm and italian. So very yummy!
Gary February 28, 2012 at 01:59 AM
Hi Nancy, this is the owner of P&S convenient, Gary Buonarosa. A bad reputation? I have been in business since 1986 and have contributed thousands of dollars to town athletics and other programs. Not to mention, donating my valuable time to mentoring my stores employees who have further more gone on to become successful business owners of their own. Outside of the store, I am fully involved with Reading Recreational Sports as a coach of my daughters Micro-Soccer and Hockey teams. Nancy, my reputation is unfortunately, created by women like yourself. Women, who would rather sit behind a computer screen speculating that a business is bad based upon rumors than to visit the store itself. Therefore, I understand you are trying to voice your opinion the best way you know how, but you truly should base it on your experience rather than a “reputation”.
Kat S February 28, 2012 at 12:35 PM
The P and S opens there doors to throngs of kids every afternoon when school gets out. Whether you just got a small fry or a sub they let the kids sit in the store and eat. There are not a lot of establishments that let kids hang out and talk inside and out and you never hear of the police being called to dispurse a crowd. On top of that the subs are pretty good!!!My only gripe is it is cash only.
Glen B. February 28, 2012 at 04:58 PM
DiCara's Deli has the freshest/best ingredients in town. All Boars Head. Bread/rolls are hands above other establishments. I drive across town just to get the prosciutto & mozzarella sub. Everything is clean, clean, clean. Which is more than I can say for some other eateries in town. Balance of meats and toppings is just right.
Andrew Jeromski February 28, 2012 at 07:01 PM
Di Cara's is in the lead, but there is plenty of time left to cast your vote!
Doreen February 29, 2012 at 01:59 AM
DiCara's Deli has the best sandwiches in town...hands down! DiCara's uses the highest quality ingredients including Boar's Head meats and the freshest rolls around. Their salads are also incredible...I haven't found any better salad in town than their signature salad, the Rocket Salad. They also do a great job on deli platters for parties. DiCara's Deli is by far the cleanest and friendliest establishment in town. Love DiCara's!!
sara February 29, 2012 at 11:39 AM
SammyJo's on Haven St near the old Atlantic market has amazing (fresh) wraps and panini's. I always thought of it as just a bakery, but check out their luncheon menu, great choices, great food!
Emily M February 29, 2012 at 08:57 PM
i tried some sandwiches when they first opened and i wasn't too impressed. what do you suggest?
Ryan March 01, 2012 at 01:19 AM
DiCaras has the best subs around hands down. Always has the freshest ingredients and the nicest staff around.
sara March 01, 2012 at 11:28 AM
my favorites are the veggie wrap (all fresh veggies) and the turkey, spinach artichoke panini
Melissa March 01, 2012 at 04:35 PM
Theres definatly a few favorites in the area ..Sammyjo's has great Hot Paninis the Turkey Spinach Artichoke I LOVE....and the staff is so nice and helpful...I also like Capri its a town Classic go to place...
Jennifer Hart March 01, 2012 at 05:18 PM
Sammy Jo's is great and Melinda & Gigi behind the counter make you feel at home. In fact I'm eating "brunch" from there right now - the Bacon Bacon bagel sandwich. Too many favorites to mention, including soups and salads. Reading House of Pizza is also wonderful and George is super friendly. I love the pizza, but also treat myself to a roast beef sandwich with the special sauce every once in awhile! Both are EXTREMELY supportive of Creative Arts and other local groups.
Vicki Fortin March 01, 2012 at 07:39 PM
depending on what I am in the mood for will determine my favorite, Last corner, by far best breakfast sandwiches, done just how you want them. If you can hit it just right I think Bagel world has the best bagel sandwiches, used to love to take the kids there, could take them and their friends without breaking the bank, unfortunatly the line is not worth the wait most of the time. looking for a sub i think that P&S has some really great ones, but I have had troubles in the past with them being out of stuff when i stop on the way home from work, could be just bad timing on my part though. Love the names of the sandwiches at old reading butcher, but I am an old fashioned girl and the "gourmet" thing does nothing for me when I want a simple sub or sandwich. Cant say I have been to some of the ones on the list, but after the comments read here I will have to make time to go to di cara's (course I didn't even know it was there until last week) Sammy Jo's I was not impressed with, but it was personal taste, not quality or service. With all this said keep in mind I am a simple girl and sundried tomatoes and honeymustard mayo and salad "greens" do NOTHING for me, give me ham and cheese with onions and pickles or a jr with mayo and cheese and I am a happy happy girl so if your tastes run to the "gourmet" side LOL don't listen to a word I say! :0)
Emily M March 02, 2012 at 01:58 PM
Last Corner - is there some secret password you have to say to get good food here? The first and last time I went I got eggs on a soggy paper plate. I could have made better food at home.The staff were nice but i have no idea how this place is in business.
John March 02, 2012 at 02:18 PM
Honestly Emily I'm very surprised. I have been a loyal customer since the late 70's and have never walked away disappointed...maybe my standards are lower, but I love their no frills approach to serving delicious, reasonably priced breakfasts and lunches. I'll take it over Christophers anyday, had breakfast there on Tuesday and paid $10.06 plus $2 tip for three undercooked pancakes and a cup of coffee...outrageous.
Readingite March 02, 2012 at 06:07 PM
What are the names at the butcher shop I have never seen anything except the normal names
Vicki Fortin March 02, 2012 at 06:50 PM
I don't have the menu in front of me at the moment, but they are wizard of oz based names, eg the cowardly lion, cutesie

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something